Daywind Music Group Scores 77 Singing News Fan Award Nominations

NASHVILLE, TN (APRIL 6, 2020) — The Singing News Magazine, Southern Gospel music’s leading publication, announced its 2020 Top Ten Singing News Fan Award nominees recently with Daywind Music Group artists and songwriters receiving 77 nominations.
Daywind Records’ artists, Greater Vision and Tribute Quartet received the highest number of nominations, earning 9 each. Legacy Five received 7 nominations for its new lineup featuring Lee Black and Bryan Walker. Joseph Habedank and Karen Peck & New River received 6 nominations each. The Hoppers (5), the Nelons (4), Brian Free and Assurance (3), the Blackwood Brothers (2), Jim and Melissa Brady (2), and Jason Crabb (2) all were honored with multiple nominations. Michael Booth, Mark Lowry, Michael English, Riley Harrison Clark, and Jeff Stice each received a nomination for their excellence.
New Day Records’ Lefevre Quartet represented the new label with 5 nominations including 1 each for new members Will Lane (Favorite Bass), Jay Parrack (Favorite Tenor) and Bryan Elliot (Favorite Musician). Label newcomers, The Sound (2) and HighRoad (1) also made the list, with The Sound picking up a New Artist of the Year nomination, an award won by HighRoad in 2018.
Daywind Music Publishing’s stellar songwriters Lee Black, Joseph Habedank, Dianne Wilkinson, Gerald Crabb, and John Darin Rowsey were each nominated in the Songwriter of the Year category, along with Daywind label members Rodney Griffin and Jim Brady. Despite not receiving a nod in the Songwriter of the Year category, Daywind’s Jason Cox was a writer on an unprecedented 6 of the top 10 songs nominated for Song of the Year including Legacy Five’s “What Kind of Man,” Joseph Habedank’s “Shame On Me,” Tribute Quartet’s “The Healer Hasn’t Lost His Touch,” Gold City’s “Alabama Mud,” Old Path’s “Come Sunday Morning,” and Kingdom Heirs’ “Come to the Well.”

Below is a complete list of Daywind Music Group’s 2020 Singing News Fan Awards Top Ten Nominees:
Favorite Album

Joseph Habedank – Deeper Oceans

Legacy Five – Pure Love

Greater Vision – You’ve Arrived

Karen Peck & New River – Lift His Name

Tribute Quartet – Living The Stories
Favorite Song

Joseph Habedank – “Shame On Me” (Michael Boggs, Jason Cox, Joseph Habedank)

Tribute Quartet – “The Healer Hasn’t Lost His Touch” (Jason Cox, Joseph Habedank, Tony Wood)

Legacy Five – “What Kind Of Man” (Jason Cox, Sue C. Smith, Kenna West)

Greater Vision – “You’ve Arrived” (Marcia Henry, Sue C. Smith, Kenna West)
“Alabama Mud” (Jason Cox, Tim Lovelace, Belinda Smith)

“Come Sunday” Morning (Jason Cox, Kenna West)

“Come to the Well” (Jason Cox, Devin McGlamery, Kenna West)

“Going There” (Lee Black, Scott Inman)
Favorite Artist

Greater Vision

Joseph Habedank

Legacy Five


Tribute Quartet

Karen Peck & New River
Favorite Songwriter

Jim Brady

Lee Black

Joseph Habedank

Rodney Griffin

Dianne Wilkinson

Gerald Crabb

John Darin Rowsey
Favorite New Artist

The Sound
Favorite Bass

Anthony Davis – Tribute Quartet

Matt Fouch – Legacy Five

Will Lane – LeFevre Quartet
Favorite Baritone

Billy Blackwood – Blackwood Brothers

Jon Epley – Greater Vision

Mike Lefevre – LeFevre Quartet

Mike Rogers – Brian Free & Assurance

Josh Singletary – Tribute Quartet
Favorite Lead

Gary Castro – Tribute Quartet

Jim Brady – Jim & Melissa Brady

Dean Hopper – Hoppers

Scott Fowler – Legacy Five

Bill Shivers – Brian Free & Assurance

Rodney Griffin – Greater Vision
Favorite Tenor

Chris Allman – Greater Vision

Gus Gaches – Tribute Quartet

Michael Booth

Brian Free – Brian Free & Assurance

Jay Parrack – LeFevre Quartet
Favorite Quartet

Blackwood Brothers

LeFevre Quartet

Legacy Five

Tribute Quartet
Favorite Band


Jason Crabb
Favorite Musician

Bryan Elliot – LeFevre Quartet

Jeff Stice

Josh Townsend – Legacy Five

Gerald Wolfe – Greater Vision

Josh Singletary – Tribute Quartet
Favorite Soprano

Melissa Brady – Jim & Melissa Brady

Karen Peck Gooch – Karen Peck & New River

Kim Hopper – Hoppers

Amber Nelson Kistler – The Nelons
Favorite Alto

Kelly Nelon Clark – The Nelons

Connie Hopper – Hoppers

Susan Peck Jackson – Karen Peck & New River
Favorite Mixed Group

The Nelons


Karen Peck & New River
Favorite Young Artist

Autumn Nelon Clark – The Nelons

Kari Gooch – Karen peck & New River

Levi Mills – The Sound
Favorite Trio

Brian Free & Assurance

Greater Vision
Favorite Soloist

Riley Harrison Clark

Jason Crabb

Michael English

Joseph Habedank

Mark Lowry
The 2020 Singing News Fan Award process continues with second-round voting this month. Voting is open to subscribers. To become a subscriber, go to
Daywind Records is home to an award-winning roster of artists, including Adam Crabb, Amber Nelon Thompson, the Blackwood Brothers, Brian Free & Assurance, Greater Vision, the Hoppers, Jim & Melissa Brady, Joseph Habedank, Karen Peck & New River, Legacy Five, Mark Lowry, Michael Booth, Michael English, the Nelons, Riley Harrison Clark, Tribute Quartet, and Wilburn and Wilburn. Daywind is distributed to retail through New Day Christian Distributors and the Orchard, covering all major physical and digital outlets.
New Day Records is home to HighRoad, the Griffith Family, Lefevre Quartet, Tim Menzies, and The Sound. The label is distributed to retail through New Day Christian Distributors and the Orchard, covering all major physical and digital outlets.
Daywind Music Publishing is home to an award-winning roster of writers including Lee Black, Jason Cox, Gerald Crabb, Janice Crow, Marty Funderburk, Mike Harland, Devin McGlamery, Tim Lovelace, John Darin Rowsey, Belinda Smith, Sue Smith, Diane Wilkinson, Nathan Woodard and Hunter Leath.

About Rhonda Frye 324 Articles
Throughout her career and ministry, Rhonda has served at,, and (as Editor in Chief). She has also published articles in Singing News Magazine and CCM Magazine. As a music journalist, Rhonda interviewed numerous well-known artists (such as Bill and Gloria Gaither, Larnelle Harris, Phillips Craig & Dean, Jason Crabb, and many more). She has also covered the GMA Dove Awards, KLove Awards, The National Quartet Convention, Harmony Honors, GMA Hall of Fame, and other special events. Rhonda is also a songwriter and worship leader.